NaCCA Explains National Pre-Tertiary Learning Assessment Framework

The National Pre-tertiary Learning Assessment Framework (NPLAF) is a document develope to assist the implementation of the standards-based curriculum. It is designed to guide assess’ practices in our schools and the educational system at large.

The NPLAF ensures strong link among the curriculum, mode of learning, teaching and assessment at the pre-tertiary level.

Key Features of the Pre-Tertiary Learning Assessment Framework

• Aligned with the standards-based curriculum

• Introduction of National Standard Assessment Test for all learners at Basic 2, 4, 6, JHS 2 and

• Differentiated Assessment for learners based on their learning abilities

• Contains provisions to assess and report on the acquisition of Core competencies and 4Rs (Reading, wRiting, aRithmetic and cReativity) in learners

• Assessment for learning, Assessment as learning and Assessment of learning giving.

Why Learning Assessment Framework

Ghana has started rolling out the implementation of a standards-based curriculum from Se; 2019. To determine the extent to which learners are attaining the curriculum standards at e grade-level, there is the need to develop a corresponding learning assessment framework ti reliability and validity of assessment records.

The NPLAF seeks to provide general guidelines measuring the progress and achievement of all learners at various grade-levels against nati, standards.This will ensure fairness, accountability and public confidence in the assessment across the country.

Generally, the assessment of learning at the pre-tertiary level will be use to take decisions of

• Remediation

• Selection

• Placement

• Resource allocation

• Promotion • System monitoring

• Certification • Interventions in education

• Learner progress

• Teacher orientation

What Is National Pre-Tertiary Learning Assessment Framework?

When Do We Access?


1. During the lesson (Questions and answers, Interviews, Observations, Class exercises Practicals, Performance, Demonstrations)

2. End of Lesson (Assignments, Class tests, Class exercises, Practicals, Performance, an< Demonstrations)

3. In the course of the term – SBA (CAT 1, CAT 2, CAT 3, CAT 4 (Project), Portfol(o)

4. End of term (Examination, Practical, Portfolio and Performance)

5. End of academic year (End of year Examination) e.g. National Standards Assessmeni Test (NSAT), Oral Examination, Written Examination, Practicals, Portfolio, Performan. and Demonstrations.

6. End of phases 4 and 5 (JHS and SHS final year Examination)


1. During school visits and monitoring – Inspection of attendance register, lesson no and scheme of learning, learners exercise books, Interviews, observation of lesson facilitation.

2. During school open days.

3. During school exhibition, display and performance.


During inspection of records of learners’ performance (school and national examinations) – school records (teachers’ movement book, attendance book, log ho visitors book, teachers’appraisal records)


End of year reports (records on performance of learners, teachers and schools)


1. Orally

2. Written

3. Performance / Practicals / Demonstration

4. Project / Portfolios

5. Observation (Checklist / Manual / Rubric)

Inclusivity in Learning Assessment

Assessment must be adapted to the unique needs of special schools and learners with special educational needs (SEN) in regular schools. As provided in the national standard! inclusive education, the NPLAF requires teachers to among other things:

1. set appropriate objectives and achievable targets for all learners,

2. ensure that learners can cope with the performance standards set for them;

3. use appropriate pace for all learners.

4. provide additional time for learners with SEN to complete learning activities/tasks all assignments.

What Is National Pre-Tertiary Learning Assessment Framework?

Who Assesses?

Learner: Through Self and Peer Assessment

Teacher: Through School-Based Assessment (SBA)

District Education Directorate: Through School Education Assessment (SEA) in Mathe English, Science and District Quality Monitoring System for Education (DQMS-E)

NaCCA: Through National Standard Assessment Test (NSAT)

WAEC: Through Junior High School (JHS) and Senior High School (SHS) Final Year Exam

MoE: Through National level evaluation by the ministry, its Agencies and Development

Who Is Assessed?


• Assessment of entry knowledge, skill and experience.

• Assessment of learning needs.

• Assessment of progression in learning. • Assessment of achievement in learning at the end of a given grade level


• Assessment of professional knowledge: the curriculum content and knowledge about the learner.

• Assessment of professional practice: class management, use of appropriate pedagogy and assessment practices.

• Assessment of professional values and attitudes: community of practice and continuous professional development.


• Assessment of the performance of Learners and teachers.

• Assessment of school leadership style and management performance: The Head Tea. Assistant Head Teacher, Curriculum Lead, Student Representative Council (SRC), Parent Teacher Association (PTA), School Management Committee (SMC).

• Assessment of availability and use of resources and infrastructure.


• Assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of the entire pre-tertiary educational system.

• Assessing the effectiveness of monitoring and supervision and identify priority areas planning, intervention and policy direction.

• Provide the government with robust data on performance for decision making.

What Do We Assessed?

1. Core competencies Critical thinking and problem solving • Creativity and innovation

• Communication and collaboration

• Cultural identity and global citizenship

• Personal development and leadership

• Digital literacy

2. The 4Rs – Reading, wRiting, aRithmetic and cReativity

3. System, Leadership and Management Performance

What Is National Pre-Tertiary Learning Assessment Framework?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *